The “Who” and “Why” of “My Changing World”

I’ve enrolled in Blogging101 here on wordpress, and the first assignment is a Who I am and Why I’m Here post. I’ve done this in my About Me section, but this is the assignment, so here goes.

100_0638

Bookgal67 is a woman in her late 30-teens who has been around the block a few times. My world has seen a lot of changes in the last year and a half and I began this blog a little less than a year ago. At first it was just a place to write down those random thoughts that rumble around in my mind from time to time; a place to share those thoughts and hopefully bring a smile or maybe some inspiration, or just some food for thought to those who read it. But then life really started changing and I decided to go a different route with my blog. It is now a place for me to practice my writing skills while I share my journey with others. Sometimes my posts are about an issue I’m facing, sometimes it’s just an update as to what is going on and what changes are occurring, and sometimes they are inspired by something I’ve read by another blogger or maybe just something I’ve seen out on the Internet that inspired me to share my own thoughts.

Part of my goal in sharing publicly rather than just writing a personal journal is to reach out to those who have been through similar issues or may be facing them right here along with me. Sometimes writing a personal journal just makes me feel isolated and I don’t always want to feel that way. Writing in a blog and seeing that others “like” what I have posted makes me feel not so alone, and for me, that can be a real boost to my emotional and mental state. It’s a little scary at times, putting myself out there, because I don’t know who might read it and make fun of it. But it’s more my hope that I can help someone else not feel alone in their own struggles.

By the end of the year I hope to have at least 25 steady followers and I hope to have helped at least a few people in some way. It will also be fun to see how my life has changed and what progress I have made in my personal and professional lives. I hope that I will have been able to give people something to think about, to have inspired and brought entertainment and laughter.

2 thoughts on “The “Who” and “Why” of “My Changing World”

Leave a comment